Race Render Projects lost all sound

Old forum being kept online for archive purposes and Knowledge Base
Forum rules
This is the old archived forum. Please post new threads in the new forum instead. Thank you.

Race Render Projects lost all sound

Postby KW78 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:41 pm

Hi,

I have bought RR 3.1.1 ultimate. (64 bit)

I am using video files from mobius cameras, as part of a traqmate system.

In my first project, I used front camera video file and rear camera and the clip was produced with sound, and the preview pane had sound as well.

On expanding the project, I muted the rear video file from within the Display Objects Setup window for the rear camera. This lost all sound in the project. No sound has ever been produced since in any project or preview pane. I of course unchecked mute.

I would like to eventually Render videos with sound mixed or muted from the different source files.

I have explored all the setup windows for the source files, preview pane, project setup, and display objects - and have excercised audio settings throughout. Nothing has restored sound, going to mono, 8 bit, etc.

I have installed the latest update dated 1.15.15
I have uninstalled the program and reinstalled the program
I have checked for hardware driver updates for the sound card

I can play the video files from within traqmate with sound, and with windows media
player. I don't think the source files are a problem.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Kyle
Last edited by KW78 on Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KW78
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:42 pm

Re: Race Render Projects lost all sound

Postby KW78 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:45 pm

Further info -

I have started new projects with different source files on the the 64 bit app and the 32 bit app, same behavior of no sound.

I would attach the logfile but do not appear to be able to for this forum.

Thanks,
Kyle
KW78
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:42 pm

Re: Race Render Projects lost all sound

Postby KW78 » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:01 pm

Any Ideas?

The info in the knowledge base talks about the quicktime workaround, but that straps the program to 32 bit and makes it slow. I have video from the 25 hour to do so I upgraded my race computer to a 64 bit just for this, and would like to get the 64 bit working like it did for one sample video.

Also, fyi, loading quicktime makes traqmate work much slower, and the windows media player now locks up when skipping around in a large video file.

I have moved forward on my 32 bit machine and have 20hrs of cpu time for a 3.5hr project, so far.

Thanks,
Kyle
KW78
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:42 pm

Re: Race Render Projects lost all sound

Postby RaceRender LLC » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:02 pm

There shouldn't be any reason that muting the audio within RaceRender would then prevent it from coming back or affect other projects. I know that you have probably already tried some of this, but for the sake of covering all the bases, this is what's recommended for people experiencing a lack of audio:

  1. Double-click on the video file in the "Input Files" list to open the input file configuration screen:
    1. Make sure the Mute box is not checked
    2. Set Volume to 100%
    3. Set the Left/Right Balance to the Center (clicking on the text will reset it to Center)
    4. Set the "Channels" option to Stereo
  2. Double-click on the video image on the preview screen (or its entry in the "Display Objects" list), so that the properties box appears:
    1. Make sure the Mute box is not checked
    2. Set Volume to 100%
    3. Set the Left/Right Balance to the Center (clicking on the text will reset it to Center)
  3. On the main preview screen, make sure the sound icon is not muted (it should display blue waves) and that the volume is turned up. On Windows, the box next to it should say 100. On Mac, click the up arrow a bunch of times.

  4. If playing the preview in RaceRender still has no sound, try creating a short output video to see if it has sound or not. This can be accomplished by starting the output, letting it process several seconds of video, and then just clicking Cancel; that will still create an output file so you can see if it has sound or not...

    1. If RaceRender's preview playback has no sound, but the output file does have sound, then evidently something on your system is just preventing RaceRender from playing audio (or has muted or lowered its volume)

    2. If both RaceRender's preview playback and its output file do not have sound, then most likely the input media's audio was not able to be decoded for RaceRender. In that case, there are a few options:

      i) If on a 64-bit version of Windows, try both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions to see if one works differently than the other

      ii) Try installing Apple's free QuickTime 7 Player for Windows (see viewtopic.php?f=6&t=22 ), restart RaceRender, and see if there's a change. If no change, you may also want to try going to File -> Media Libraries and disabling "Media Foundation", then restart RaceRender and try again.

      iii) If you are on Windows 7 or earlier, try it on a Windows 8 / 8.1 computer. This newer version of Windows has nicely improved media capabilities that tend to be much more compatible, often without needing to rely on QuickTime.

      iv) Another option would be to try using a 3rd party tool to re-encode the media into a more compatible format.


Obtaining RaceRender's diagnostic log output (Help -> Show Diagnostic Log) immediately after encountering this can also usually tell me if it's a decoding problem or not. That can copy & pasted into a forum post, or sent to me at Info@RaceRender.com
RaceRender LLC
by HP Tuners
RaceRender LLC
Site Admin
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 10:39 pm


Return to RaceRender (Archive & KB)



cron